Award Time


I’ve been given the Liebster Award by Olga.  This is one of those awards that are simply ways for bloggers to acknowledge and  recommend each other.  There was a time when I wanted to be careful about advertising my blog, afraid that I’d have to constantly police it for spammy comments, but I see that WordPress does a pretty good job of filtering out the spam.

So, seeing no harm in the Liebster, I thank Olga and go on with the requirements, as she quotes them:

The Liebster is designed to bring attention to blogs with fewer than 200 followers.

The rules:

•    Thank the blogger who gave you the award by linking back to them (I did so above.)

•    Reveal your top 5 picks and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.

•    Post the award on your blog.

•    Bask in the love from the most supportive people on the Internet

A little note of caution about these “awards”:

The most common one seems to be the “Versatile Blogger” award, which asks recipients to turn around and recommend FIFTEEN other blogs.  This sounds really excessive to me, and naturally leads, chain letter-like, to the same “award” coming around to the same people again & again.  But for this moderate “Liebster”, I’ll take the excuse to just point out
some good stuff to you all.

My choice of the five was influenced by several factors:

— I had to guess who has fewer than 200 followers, when this
info is not often posted on their blogs.

— I don’t want to repeat what I’ve already recommended, e.g.,
in the “Local Links” or “Link Collection” pages that you can click on above.

— All of my choices have things to write about, i.e., do NOT
write about writing, or about their mundane lives without relating
them to something larger, or at least being somewhat entertaining
about it.

— They’re not too specialized, suitable for a somewhat broad audience.

.
First the fun:

Not sure why, but I like this one.  Sometimes personal stuff, interspersed with current issues of great import.  Just entertaining:
http://raincoaster.com/

Also this one.  Not exactly laser-focused, but fun to read:
http://afeatheradrift.wordpress.com/.

.

Now, the hard information:

Only 25 followers, but real information, about information:
http://theartofaccess.com/

Rania Halek does consistently good writing about things that should concern us all.  I’m very surprised that she has less than 200 followers.
http://raniakhalek.com/

About rationality, science, and philosophy:
http://measureofdoubt.com/
Contains the occasional gem, such as this one, in
http://measureofdoubt.com/2011/08/17/calibrating-our-confidence/

“…the overconfidence police interrogators feel about their ability to
discern honest denials from false ones…”

Kassin and Fong asked forty-four professional detectives
in Florida and Ontario, Canada, to watch the tapes. These
professionals averaged nearly fourteen years of experience
each, and two-thirds had had special training, many in the
Reid Technique.  Like the students [in a similar study],
they did no better than chance, yet they were convinced
that their accuracy rate was close to 100 percent.  Their
experience and training did not improve their performance.
Their experience and training simply increased their
belief that it did.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Award Time

  1. Olga SE says:

    Sometimes awards are considered as something evil, but there certainly is a good side to them: they let people get acquainted with some really nice blogs. I liked the Measure of Doubt.

  2. Sherry says:

    Thanks so much for thinking of me. Unfortunately I do violate the first rule. lol. I do see a blog or two that I must take a look at. Congratulations on receiving your award. You certainly deserve it. 🙂

  3. Congratulations and well-done!

  4. raincoaster says:

    Thanks. I’m pretty caught up in OccupyVancouver now, but if I still haven’t done this in a month, let me know.

Leave a Reply

